Showing posts with label wedding woes. Show all posts
Showing posts with label wedding woes. Show all posts

Sunday, October 19, 2008

WANTED: Wedding Gift Giver


So the wedding was great and when we got back we had some awesome stuff waiting for us. One of those items being this handy little fruit "hammock" that Daniel just loves. The only problem we have is that this was the only gift without a name. So sad! I would LOVE to send someone a very awesome Thank You card and be completely done with them but I have no clue who the gift is from.

So PLEASE, if you recognize this wedding gift, let me know and I'll send the cutest Thank You card EVER! :)

Monday, August 25, 2008

Class of 2012

He started High School today. My baby brother is a Freshman. I've been on the verge of tears all day! Maybe it's the stress of the wedding, the fear of change or just the heartbreak of knowing he's getting older. I can remember Baby Travis and now he has a suit and is going to High School. What's next?! Prom? Girls?! COLLEGE?!?! I'm not going to make it....the waterworks have started once again. My heart already hurts for the hardships he's bound to run in to. I want to take his face in my hands and tell him it doesn't matter. 10 years from now it won't matter if you played football or hung out with the cool kids. High school is just something you have to get through so hang in there! But I can't. Those are lessons for him to learn all by himself. And I get to watch. He got old without asking me. That's just rude. :)

I can't seem to stop crying! I cry for no reason! I pause for to long and my eyes well up. Is it normal? Do all brides go through a highly emotional breakdown the week before their wedding? Or am I just an emotional wreck? I fear change and the fact that I have to leave my mom is change. I think I might lean towards being the emotional wreck but I guess I've always known that. I'll get past the house lights going down and I'll be fine. I just have to get through the beginning jitters. I should probably explain....

I spent my high school career in the theater. I found my fit and my family and that's where I stayed. I also discovered I was very good at being a techie. I loved being behind the scenes! And I LOVED Stage Managing. When it came to opening night, I was a nervous wreck the entire time the audience was finding their seats. I remained a nervous wreck until the house lights started to dim and I called my first cue.

Maybe things will settle as soon as the house lights dim. Here's hoping!

Monday, July 21, 2008

What are those 12 steps again?

"Hello, my name is Timberley and I have a problem...." I am addicted to checking our registry. I can't seem to stop!!! Every time I'm near a computer I find myself on the BB&B website checking for the "fulfilled" word next to all of our "dream" items. And as if that isn't bad enough, I can't stop editing items either!! I look at things and think "we'll never use that!" and quickly remove it. Or I add items and then immediately regret adding them. I worry nothing will match so I change the colors of things. I fear we will end up with everything we don't need and nothing we do need. It's my new OBSESSION!!! I need a support group! This can't be healthy.

I need 12 steps on how to break the habit and then someone with me at all times to keep my fingers from navigating to the desired pages. Why can't I just be surprised?! I know every present we open before we open it - how sad is that!? Am I the only person to suffer from this addiction? Surely not. Surely somewhere in this world there is another focused bride with the same obsession....I hope.

And if I'm not checking our registries, I'm looking for RSVP's. How long does it take for people to RSVP? Seriously! Planning this wedding has made me realize how weird people are. People invite themselves or decide to bring every relative they have in the state of Texas with them. What is with that?! The lady who cleans the studio at work asked me for an invitation. I don't even know her last name! I know nothing about her but she feels as though we're "family". What?!

Am I selfish brat? Am I being hyper-sensitive and extra crazy? Or is that just REALLY strange?!

Weddings make people do crazy things....

Ok, it has been 10 minutes, must...check...registry!!! :)

Thursday, May 15, 2008

I feel a panic attack coming!

The invitations came in!! Now the hard part begins. So do I handwrite every single envelope which is what every single bridal book tells you to do or do I save my sanity and print up the already typed up addresses? Would I be turning on my wedding professional status by printing up some silly addresses? Would people say things like "I can't believe she didn't handwrite these!"? I'm a nut, yeah I know.

And then there's the guest list. A guest list that has ballooned to outrageous numbers. Is it wrong to want to invite friends whom you love over family you barely know?!

This is supposed to be fun right?! Are my Bridezilla horns showing? I need a massage and a nap and a some Chunky Monkey ice cream.....STAT!