Showing posts with label life and God. Show all posts
Showing posts with label life and God. Show all posts

Friday, May 23, 2025

Proverbs 31:8-9

*Direct quote from JD Vance before he traded his morals for power.
Look it up - Google is free.

I shared where I stand on the subject of the current president. Go here and here for a reminder.

I will remain vocal as things continue to go downhill. It's important to me that people in my life know where I stand - either to feel safe or to stay quiet.

The man and his people are atrocious and there is no defending them.

But that's not what this blog post is about...

I recently shared this picture on Facebook:



This post is about this comment - 


I have removed the name of the commenter from the above picture and also from my Facebook. The block function is something I use liberally these days.

This line "don't assume this isn't part of His will" is problematic.

Because THIS is what that sentence is saying - 
        Families being ripped apart...
        People being taken off the street and sent to other countries...
        People being persecuted for speaking up...
        People losing jobs...
        Criminals being pardoned...
        Bribes being flaunted...
        Lies being told daily...
        Foreign leaders being insulted in front of the press...
        People losing much needed support - is the will of God.

Hard. Nope.

None of this will EVER glorify Him. There is absolutely no way any of this can be spun in a way to show them on the right side of humanity. 

And as Christians - if we are not actively speaking out AGAINST it - we are actively participating IN it. 

It is a privilege to go about your daily life not worrying about how decisions made by terrible people will directly affect you.

Staying silent tells the people around you who do not have that privilege that they are not safe with you.

This is the time to flip tables.

And saying "this is God's will" with all the Christian audacity you can muster is a slap in the face to all of those suffering.

None of the Bible stories I learned growing up ended with "go forth and separate the poor and banish the foreigner in my name." 

The current regime is not the will of God. It's the will of people who fell head over heels for a very golden idol.

I read a quote the other day that said "Trump was their test against false idols and they failed."

I believe that 100%.

Again, some of y'all didn't pay attention to Veggie Tales and it shows.

Until next time....


Thursday, October 31, 2024

W.W.J.D.

I hate election years. It makes things uncomfy. I am mad.

The fact that we are dealing with what we were dealing with eight years ago makes me so sick. We deserve to be turned in to salt.

I have so much anxiety and I'm not sleeping well. I also have a very distinct view on what is right and what is wrong. I pray to God and THIS is what He puts on my heart and I need to get it out. Even if it ruins Christmas.

I am writing this so one day Alice will know which side of history I stood on.

Here is everything I want to say....

*deep breath* 

1. I don't think God plays politics. I don't think He handpicks any leader. He gave us free will and said do your worst. And we have. If anything, the man was sent to fracture the church and expose Evangelical Christians for what they are - easily bought and swayed. Put Republican next to your name and they will follow you anywhere.

2. One of the current candidates believes in and has a relationship with God. The other candidate thinks he IS god. One candidate is required to be perfect and calm and respectful at all times. The other candidate can be as hateful as he wants. He openly lies about everything with zero consequences. I heard a reporter say "she is having to be flawless while he is allowed to be lawless" and that is the truth.

3. If you are a single issue voter and are choosing to vote for a very hateful, misogynistic, narcissistic, racist who would like to become the next great dictator but claims to be Pro-life - YOU are on the wrong side of history. A man who is openly and proudly supported by the KKK.  You say, "I'm not a racist" BUT that isn't a deal breaker for you because he is still your chosen one. He's been accused of assaulting many women, but that isn't a deal breaker either. THAT is the problem. He is a walking, talking red flag and no matter the egregious things he says or does - you will die on the hill of "but he is Pro-Life." 

4. A man who has his followers buy watches, shoes, coins and Bibles - with his name and face on it - does not care how much you are paying for bread. To convince yourself otherwise is foolish. His goal will be to line his pockets and garner as much power as possible. The rich will get richer and we will suffer for it. 

5. God's Bible does not mention America or your right to own a gun. Hard stop. He actually spends a lot of time talking about not harming people, protecting children and welcoming the poor.

6. He is not a man of God. The Bible says believers will know other believers by their Fruits of the Spirit. They are: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness and gentleness. What of those does your candidate exhibit? I'll wait...

7. If he wins and he does what he says he will do - persecute those who disagree with him - when they come for your neighbors, your family and your friends - will you act surprised? Yesterday he said Liz Chaney should be lined up in front of a firing squad. How is that your choice in a leader?

8.I spent my childhood being asked W.W.J.D. and NOW when people are saying that Jesus would most certainly NOT do what he is doing - we are called Liberal and it's seen as a negative. You took us to church to learn the love of God. We did. Jesus flipped tables. Jesus would not have voted for either candidate but He most certainly wouldn't have voted for him. Jesus would be someone you would spit the word "liberal" out to. He would be DISAPPOINTED in your devotion to such a horrendous golden lamb.

If when we get to the pearly gates and standing behind God are people like Trump, Cruz, Vance, Lindsey Graham, MTG and God looks at me and says "why did you not follow my chosen one?" - I will take my chances in Hell. Full stop. I believe so strongly in my convictions that I will gladly enter Hell if I'm wrong.

BUT

What if I am right?

What if we get to heaven and God looks at you and says "how could you have ever claimed he was my chosen? You heard his words. You saw how he treated people. He took my word and sold it with his name on the cover. You purchased and wore things with his face on it. You supported him when he tore down the weak. When he abused women. When he incited such violence. When he put himself above everyone. You trusted him above all else. He exemplifies nothing I want my name attached to. He proudly aligned himself with the worst of the worst. His desire was to become the most powerful. How could you have fallen so easily for such a blatant idol? How, child?" 

What are you going to say? "But he was pro-life."

9. My job is to leave a better world for my daughter. That's my single issue. I am voting for the person who I do not see as a threat to women. Ask yourself, which candidate are you comfortable leaving your teenage daughter in a room with alone? And be honest.

This has made friendships difficult. Family relationships are strained. This is where we are.

Bottom line, for me, it's not about politics. It's about morals. One candidate has them. It's not the one selling bibles in his name.

I hope next Tuesday ends the way it should but my faith in "God's people" flew out the window eight years when he became their guy. 

Some of you didn't wear W.W.J.D. bracelets every day when you were young and it shows.

Until next time...



Sunday, November 8, 2020

Policies vs. Decency

Disclaimer 1: This post will not focus on policies. There has never been a politician I have ever agreed with or believed in with zero concerns. I rest assured that there is not a single politician with my best interest at heart. Neither major political party is out for what's best for me or you. Period. 

This post will be about how thankful I am there is a possibility for a less than hateful man to lead this nation. A better example of a leader to our children. This post is about how blindly following a horrible man due to 'political policy alignment' should never outweigh common human decency - in my opinion.

Four years ago I sobbed at the blatant and open hate that won the highest title in the nation. I shared my views on it then. They haven't changed. 

For four years, I've watched his followers gain a louder, prouder voice. I've seen the flags and the hats and things in his likeness and I've often wondered if it's how Sodom and Gomorrah looked right before it was turned into salt. There can be no denial that this is anything other than idolatry. 

Let's look up the definition in case there's confusion....

* idolatry (noun): extreme admiration, love, or reverence for something or someone. 

He was never God.

He was never the savior. 

He was never a patriot.

He is flawed.

He is broken.

He is reckless.

He is Hate personified.

He is not the example I want for my child.

And now I can be hopeful that there is change coming. 

Yesterday, I sobbed because for the first time in 5 years, I will be able to watch a President speak with my child in the room with no worry about having to have a lesson on anti bullying. 

I won't have to say things like "that's not how you should treat people" or "that's not how we talk about people" or "NEVER in your life let a man speak to you like that." I won't have to have any of those lessons fostered by our soon-to-be President. 

Disclaimer 2: I am NOT saying he is without his flaws. I am saying his main motivation doesn't appear to be division.

And that's just so refreshing. 

I listened to the President-Elect speak last night and he never spoke with hate. He didn't insight action against anyone. He didn't blame anyone. He didn't encourage crowds of people to cheer for the demise of anyone. He didn't say any horrible things about the current leader.

He spoke of family and faith and unity. He quoted bible verses. He included and welcomed everyone. He appealed to a nation divided and promised to attempt to help it heal. The people in the crowd were crying and smiling with happiness.

Let me pause again and stress I do not align with some of his policies. However, I truly believe he's a better example than who we currently have leading our nation.

I watched our Vice-President-Elect speak with so much joy! Forget political party alignment - she is the very first woman to hold that title. As a woman, I wept. As a mother to a daughter, I wept. Alice will never know a world where there hasn't been a woman in that high of a leadership role. And THAT is a beautiful thing. 

Disclaimer 3: Again, I am NOT saying she is without hers flaws. I am saying she has broken through a glass ceiling for all the little girls sitting at home hoping to make a difference some day. And that's something special. 

I am thankful soon the rhetoric should change. I am hopeful the non-hate will be louder than the hate for the first time in 5 years. I am anxious about what the next few months will look like. 

But today. Right now, here's to a new hope.

Disclaimer 4: I acknowledge this is my personal viewpoint. These views are not shared amongst all of my family or friends. I will not debate about it - it will not sway them. It will not sway me. It will only stress out my blood pressure medicine. This is just my public recording of the words on my heart. One day, this will be all Alice has of my words and I want there to be no confusion about where my heart was aligned. 

Until next time...


Wednesday, July 31, 2019

Growing Pains

This summer Alice has been attending a kids program at the church she where she attended Mother's Day Out.

She goes about every other week and they get to do all kinds of fun things.

The group is extremely diversified in regards to age and I am pretty confident Alice is one of the youngest and since she doesn't go every week, I think it has been a bit harder to 'get friends'. 

She has come home a few times saying the other kids won't play with her. She is naturally drawn to older kids since that's usually who she is around and preteenish girls don't want to play with a little girl.

And this makes our girl sad.

Which makes this momma heartbroken.

We talk about how we're not meant to be friends with everyone and sometimes older kids don't really want to be around little ones. 

We talk about how it is okay to play on our own as well and not to let anyone get you too down.

She was a little more vocal about issues before we took her this week, I offered to not make her go back but she seems insistent. She only has one week left after this week so she might tough it out.

The kids have a rest period at the end of the day and are allowed to bring in pillows and blankets if they want. Alice has been bringing her beloved Ki-ki with her.

Yesterday she asked me if she could take one of my blankets instead because one of the other girls told her her blanket was a baby blanket.

My heart broke. And then I got irrationally mad and wanted to hunt down a child and punch them in the throat. 

This is her beloved KIKI!! This is the same blanket she told me she plans to give to her kid like I gave her mine before bed the other night. (yeah - this caused ALL THE TEARS!!!!)

And now some dumb kid is making her feel silly for loving it.

I vocalized none of these thoughts and we found a less baby-ish blanket for her to take.

These are tough lessons. 

Tough lessons for her.

Tough lessons for us. 

We cannot fight all her battles.We should not fight all her battles.

She will have to learn and lean and grow and adapt all on her own out in the wild. 

She will come home with a broken heart, hurt feelings and scars.

And we will be there to help her pick up the pieces. To encourage. To guide. To support.

And I will try REALLY hard to not punch people in the throat. 

Growing up is hard. For kids and their adults.

****

She came home yesterday saying she would be taking her Kiki after all.

Me "even though it's a baby blanket?"
Her "It's not a baby blanket! It's a special Kiki Santa made just for me!!"

Ooops.

Me "maybe we shouldn't tell the other kids that - I wouldn't want them to be jealous."

Now I get to stress about when she finds out Santa is a just a big huge lie.......

Until next time......

Sunday, March 18, 2018

The OTHER Jesus

Our child's spiritual gifts are finding the loophole and rationally justifying her actions.

For example, this summer I instituted the Snack Chart which limited her to 3 snacks a day with only a handful of options. Once these snacks were consumed, nothing else could be asked for. Meals did not count as snacks so she would eventually ask for breakfast after her snacks were consumed.

Addendum added."No, ma'am. If meals are not consumed during assigned meal time, they are forfeited for the day."

Alice DID NOT approve of this. At all. 

She also feels like if she changes clothes - that's reason enough to start the snack chart over. Girl, please. 

Her "But I was in my jammies!! And now I'm in my clothes!" Makes sense to her!

But nope. That's not how this works. 

And she knows WAY TOO MANY words.

Someone taught her 'rude.' Now when we fuss at her, she says, "that is so rude!"

She also knows 'decent' so when she's super tired after a LOOOOOONG night of fighting bed time, she is quick to tell me in the morning that we should let her go to bed at a decent hour. Girl, please.

I am not the best with my language. I try! But I fail. And she picks it up like a sponge and uses it when she knows she shouldn't. She will look you in the eye and say something that is unbecoming of a little lady just to test how fast you will respond. 

I've blogged about it before.

It's a daily struggle. 

Like the other day when she was bouncing on the bed and made something fall off and said, "Oh, Jesus!"

I immediately said, "Alice Anne!!"

Her response, "No, Momma! Not that Jesus!! I was talking about the Jesus in my heart. You know, he died for my sins."

Me "Are you trying to tell me you were praying?!"

Her "Uh huh!"

Y'all. I just can't.

I continued to fuss at her, explaining that I understood what she was saying and reminded her she KNEW it wasn't nice to say.

"But not THAT Jesus, Momma!"

I'm going to have to answer for this, I just know it. 

Until next time.....


Monday, January 23, 2017

Dear Daughter

Dear Daughter,

Our heart's desire is for you to live in a world where people love without question and different opinions are embraced. 

Alas, that is not our reality.

The world can be scary and loud. It can be unforgiving and unwelcoming. People lack patience and empathy and basic decency. 

But you can change that. You can be better. You can fight for the light. 

Our hope is that you understand differences make life more colorful. When you meet someone who doesn't quite look like you or talk like you, embrace what makes them special. Embrace what makes them different. Embrace what makes them the same.

Our hope is that you are empathetic to those around you. That you try your best to see all sides. That you can listen and hear. Take opinions you don't share and build new opinions. Take experiences you know nothing about and see where that person is coming from. Consider kindness first. 

When you come across someone who could use some help, we hope you realize you are there for a reason. We hope that your heart is tender for those less fortunate. We want you to understand that 'disability' doesn't equal 'broken' or 'damaged'. And when you see mistreatment - you defend. 

And when you see injustices - you question them. When you hear lies - you challenge them. Don't back down. Don't allow anyone to belittle your heart. Don't let anyone discourage what you KNOW to be true. When your heart and your head are screaming, listen. No matter if it's what the majority think. No matter if those in-charge say different.  

We want you to grow to understand that guarding your heart and your body will ALWAYS be worth it. Do not allow anyone to tell you that your worth is dependent on actions you don't want to take. Do not allow anyone to tell you that your worth is dependent on what you wear or how you look. Do not allow anyone to tell you that you deserve less than because you are a women. Do not allow anyone to demean you because you have a voice. You are not an object. You are not a trophy. Demand better. 

Love is something that is earned. Love is something that is worth waiting for. 

When you feel mistreated, leave. When your heart tells you it's not right, listen. 

We want you to learn. We want you to question. We want you to grow. 

Take everything we have tried to teach you and form your own opinions. We want to be parents that accept and celebrate that so keep us accountable. When your opinion differs from ours, be patient with us. 

We want the world to be a better place. We want you to see good and love and kindness. Don't be discouraged. Don't let anyone break your spirit. 

Look for the light.

Love,
Mom & Dad





Friday, January 20, 2017

Against my better judgement.....

So, here it is. 

Inauguration day. 

Some people are mad. Hurt. Scared. Unforgiving. Hateful. 

Some people are gleeful. Hopeful. Relieved. Unforgiving. Hateful. 

One side wants the other to get over it. "Stop crying!! Your person didn't win!!"

One side wants to hit a fast forward button to 4 years from now. "He's NOT MY PRESIDENT!!" 

A celebrity (who is a person, people. A breathing, alive, living, American) can say something with grace and dignity and people scream "JUST ACT!!! WE DON'T PAY YOU TO HAVE OPINIONS!!!" Seriously. This is ridiculousness. 

Both sides are incapable of empathy or understanding. Both sides are incapable of conversing. 

All it is is "YOU'RE WRONG!!!!!! I'M RIGHT!! ROOOOOOAAAAARRRRRRRR!!!"

So divided. 

People who are happy to be done with the previous administration say "at least he isn't him!" 

Comparing the two is apples to oranges. 

I don't really think Obama was the greatest president ever, mainly because my knowledge of politics is limited and I don't agree with all of the decisions he made.

However, I don't think he was a vile man.

The new President, however.....

I could not vote for a man who used "God's will" in one sentence and then completely insulted and alienated entire demographics in the next. Completely unapologetic. Proudly. The fact that religious leaders touted him as being a 'Man of God' absolutely DISGUSTS me. And people will say, "he's God's chosen." This turns my stomach. With that thinking so was Hitler. Stalin. Putin. 

I could not vote for a man who is SO unprofessional with his social media. A man who will insult anyone who has the nerve to call him out on his faults is just childish. His tantrums are so embarrassing. This is not who I want running my country. 

As a woman raising a woman, I could not vote for a man who disregards women like he does. I am raising my daughter to KNOW she deserves to be treated better than being "grabbed by the p@##%" by some 'entitled' man. "But that was locker room talk years ago." And he has shown me no different since. How mothers to daughters voted for him, I just don't understand. Sorry, I don't. 

I could not vote for a man who proudly incited SO MUCH HATE. I watched rallies and I cried. He spewed hate and retaliation and people ATE IT UP! He liberated the KKK. He let them come out in the light - boldly, proudly. He WELCOMED their support. No. Nothing about that is okay. I have friends who are not white. I have friends who are not straight. I have friends who are not male. I REFUSE to support a man who feels like these people deserve less than. These people deserve to be spoken down to. To be used. To be persecuted. 

I will not attack anyone for voting for him. I will question what was worth overlooking his entire being to vote for him. Seriously. This is how I see it....

"His Pro-Life stance." Bulls%$#. He doesn't give a care about tiny babies. A man with so much disdain for grown humans could never be so concerned with them as babies. Period. 

"I'm going to drain the swamp." And he did. He filled it with people who look just like him. And they're going to work hard at protecting themselves and lining their own pockets. He is not concerned for you, my dear. 

"I'm not a politician." People. Seriously. 

"I'm going to MAKE AMERICA GREAT AGAIN!" *for the rich, white elite. Because, priorities. See my above comment about his spewing of the hate. By 'looking past' his OPEN racism, you accepted it as okay. I think this is where the most fear and hurt from fellow people stems from. How can your minority neighbor trust you, laugh with you, and be comfortable with you when you support a man who stands for their oppression? "But that's not how I feel!" But you supported it. 

He did that political thing where he said trigger words to get you to completely block out his real words. Except usually men wait until they get into office to show you what complete douche's they are. This one paraded it around like a badge of honor. 

I am very vocal about not voting for our current President. Very. Vocal.

I am also very vocal about the fact that I have ZERO issues with voting for a candidate that isn't a major party candidate. I'm not red or blue, I'm more purple. A "Conservative Liberal" if you will. It's a sore spot to some of my more conservative family members. However, it's my choice. It's my right. 

I think there should be stricter gun control laws (I could have an entire post about this one issue. It would totally have my Dad rolling over in his grave). I think women and minorities and the LGBTQ community deserve the same chances as everyone else. I know I've shared my opinions on abortion and same-sex marriage before. I don't want The Man telling me what do to all the time. I don't want The Man controlling everything. I think the people struggling through several jobs to barely make ends meet deserve affordable health care. I think completely defunding Planned Parenthood will cost women their lives. (I've spent a day in Planned Parenthood with a dear friend who was there for cancer screenings. Abortions aren't all they do.) Education is important. I believe there should be stricter laws in regards to child abuse. I feel like child molesters should go away for all of eternity. I firmly believe we do not do as much as we could be doing to protect our smallest. I also think we fail to protect our women. On the flip side, I think marijuana should be legal - TAX THAT MESS!! 

See why my family is a bit concerned. 

I was raised Conservative and I still swing mostly that way on a lot of things. But I also think people should be treated kind of equally. And love should outshine fear and hate. And if it's not something that actively hurts me or my family - what is the problem?

So when it comes to voting, I listen to speeches. I read about stances. And I vote without guilt. Mostly. And this year, I wrote someone in. I know, GASP!!! "You wasted your vote!!" Nope. I voted for someone I agreed with. Someone I believe in. That wasn't a wasted vote. Besides, I'm a total cynic and I live in Texas - if the Devil himself ran as a Republican - he would win. Obviously. 

So you will probably says it's all my fault. Which is dumb. He didn't win by 1 vote.

And he's who we have now. 

And I will respect the office. But not the man.

I can have hope he will eventually earn it, however, I am painfully doubtful. The decisions he has already made are heartbreaking and worrisome. 

But I can hope! 

Until next time......

Friday, August 7, 2015

Chatting with the Church Dudes

We've had a busy few weeks! It's hot and exhausting. 

This past Tuesday, I invited our friend Marci and her little boy, PJ over for a pool play-date. Alice didn't sleep well and woke up super cranky. Fun times. I had to run an unexpected errand and was already super annoyed when it came time for them to arrive. 

I return from our errand, quickly eat lunch and then go out to fill up the pool. We have a glass screen door so I opened the front door so I could watch from the backyard just in case they arrived. 

While I'm in the backyard, the dog starts barking and Alice is knocking on the back door. I look up and there are two guys waving from the front door. Great. Now I have to talk to people.

I did not do my makeup or my hair and I wasn't even dressed for entertaining. This was going to be an extremely laid back play date. 

As I approach the door, I can tell they're selling Jesus. Only today wasn't a day for Jesus Folk - today was a day for Jonah folk. I get closer to the door and Church Dude #1 says, "I like your shirt!" I'm wearing a neon yellow SCBC shirt that says "Keep Calm and Creek on". Seriously, the shirt is so bright, you might could see it from space. He goes on to add he really likes the Keep Calm stuff. Greeeeaaaat. 

They're from a church in Deer Park and they're just going around the neighborhood to invite us all to worship with them. Church Dude #2 says the other neighbors are Catholic and won't talk to them.

I added, "they're all a little older so that's not surprising."
CD#2, "yeah, and it took them like a long time to come to the door." 

So I'm their target audience. 

CD#1 says they only meet on Saturdays because that's the way it should be and some Emperor changed it. I wasn't really listening so I can't be sure. He also adds their church has people of all ages - singles, married, older, younger, kids! LOTS OF KIDS! 

He adds this because our kid has started her "POOL!!! KIDS!!! POOL!!! KIDS!!!" chant in the background. He asks if the pool is for her, I say, "yes" with all the patience I can muster, "she's expecting a play date and neither of you brought any kids with you. She's a bit disappointed." "POOL!!! KIDS!!!! POOL!!! KIDS!!!! still on repeat in the background. 

CD#1 asks how old she is.
I say, "she's almost 3."
CD#1 says "*insert CD#2's name* has a wife that's pregnant!"
I say, "congratulations!"
CD#2 - "thanks! It's a girl too!"
Me - "congrats, again! And remember, it'll get better."
CD#2 - "That's great news! At what age?"
Me - "We're hoping by the time she's 20."

Without skipping a beat, CD#1 says, "we have people with good senses of humor at our church too!"

And it made grumpy me smile. Touche, Church Dude #1.

Until next time......

Saturday, November 23, 2013

The Time Between

Today's RAP photo is "point & shoot,"


She's eyeing a piece of dirt. It's been raining so the dog is dragging in mud and clumps can be found here and there. And she finds them. I spotted her eyeing this piece and told her "no ma'am!" which made her stop. She didn't touch it but kept pointing at it and walking around it and then laid next to it. I eventually picked it up which didn't impress her. She looked at me as if to say "you get to pick it up?! I was going to eat that!" 

She eventually found a new chunk.


Oiy vey.

I caught her watching a bug along the wall the other day.

She likes mud and bugs.

And hates shoes. 

God is laughing. I promise. ;)

The Beloved and I were discussing the difference in her age. Last year we didn't notice the time between her birth and her due date being so far apart. We were distracted and caught up and focused on other things. But this year, it seems like a lifetime of a difference. 

We celebrated her birthday two months ago yet she won't technically turn 1 until the beginning of December. That seems like FOREVER. 

And if you didn't know any better, you can't tell. 

She's such a sassy little thing. 

And we love her to pieces.

Even if she likes bugs and mud.....

Today was the first super cold day we've had and she looked absolutely adorable!

Although she hates things on her head....
Winter might pose a problem.

Friday, October 18, 2013

Teeth are DUMB

Dear God,
Dude, seriously. Teething?! I mean, come on. For real. Is this a result of sin? Is this something Eve did?! I know we're made in your likeness and all but there has got to be a better way. Maybe it's worth revisiting, tweaking maybe. Like one day of pain and then BAM! - mouthful of teeth! I could see that working. 
Sincerely,
The Tired Momma

Y'all. Teeth are dumb. D.U.M.B. 

Alice is cutting one new tooth. That's all. ONE! And she was up SCREAMING from 1ish this morning til about 4ish this morning. Screaming. 

And since the baby was up, the dog felt it was time for attention. You can tell when he needs attention because he proceeds to sit and then lay down and then sit and then lay down right in front of you without being told. Over and over again. Until you pet him. Or give him a treat. At 3am. Yeesh. 

We can only handle one needy thing at 3am. Seriously. 

And I'm pretty sure I'm making her a little addict. She hears the teething tablet bottle and opens her mouth expectantly. And she doesn't fight her other pain medicine either. That's probably bad, right?! 

Seriously.

Teeth are dumb.

Monday, June 10, 2013

You! (as in me)

I'm pretty sure our child thinks I look like this....
I do take a lot of pictures of her. She's the cutest thing ever so it's totally okay! 

In the interest of sharing - I thought I'd cover two very frequently asked questions.

1: "When are you going to have another one?!" Seriously??! We JUST had a kid! I thought the questions would stop - apparently not. Well the short answer is - we aren't. With my medical issues, the fact I was able to carry her as long as I did was a miracle. We were EXTREMELY blessed she handled everything she had to handle as well as she did. And we do not see us knowingly subjecting a child to that again. Now we know. And the doctors are sure it would happen again, probably sooner in the pregnancy and that's not a risk we're willing to take. For my life or the life of a child. So for now, we're content with our one little cutie! And one day we might look in to adoption. But for now, she's enough. 

2: "When are you going to pierce her ears?" When she's old enough to ask for them. I barely take care of my own earrings - I don't want to have to take care of hers. And I hate sleeping in earrings, why on earth would I subject her to that? "How will people know she's a girl" Because she IS a girl. Duh. "But it'll hurt more!" Nonsense. She'll just get to remember it. However, she will get the chance to make that decision on her own. She will ask, she will pick out her earrings and she will learn how to care for them. She will enter a jewelry store and come out a little more grown up. Because she WANTED to. Period. 

So there. ;)

Now for a smile. I had an eye appointment this morning so Aunt Tami got to sit with her. This is what I came home to.


The cuteness. Oh my.

Until next time....

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Day 19 - A sign

Today Little Bitty and I were out and about and got to stop in to see the ladies of Labor and Delivery at The Woman's Hospital of Texas. They like seeing her and she likes to be seen so it works out. ;) 

She got to see her original NICU doctor and all the nurses that work with Grandma Karen. These are women who prayed for us while we were there. People that worried for us. People that didn't know us but knew my mom and that alone made us family. These are women that saved my life and took care of our girl.

And I'm forever grateful. 




Until next time....

Friday, February 22, 2013

Day 22 - Makes You Smile

How loved our girl is.

Alice and Mrs. Mildred
Since the day she was born, she's had a slew of people praying for her. I contribute how well she did and is doing to that fact. One of those people is Mrs. Mildred. This week she got to meet our "Angel Baby" as she calls her. 

There are people in your life that have always been there. When people ask how you met you say "I don't know, we've just always known each other!" Mrs. Mildred and her late husband Emmett are those kind of people. Just always there. To love us. We met them as kids in the Scramble office at the Rodeo and they've always treated us like family. And now our girl is just as loved as we were. 

And that makes me smile. 

Our girl is loved and prayed for and cherished by too many people to list. 

And that brings me joy. 

Until next time....

Friday, February 15, 2013

Day 15 - Inside Your Fridge

The Creamer helps wake me up.

The bottles are for the Babe.

The wine is to celebrate! 

Today was my official last day of 'work'. They let me go last week. The email sent out to the masses announcing my departure made it seem like it was my choice. Not so much. But honesty was never a priority so there you go. 

I never considered staying home with kids. I didn't think I could do it. I didn't think I'd have any desire to.  However after she was born, the thought of leaving her made me sad. So my prayerful Grandma and her prayer group prayed if it was God's will I stay home with little bitty - so let it be. And apparently He said yes! Some things have happened and staying home will be better financially for us for a while. So getting laid off turned out to be an answer to prayer. Who knew?!

So while losing a job SUCKS - for us, it's an opportunity. I will be there for the first steps, the rolling over and the tummy aches. After being apart for the first 40 days of her life - I don't have to ever again. 

Which is good, because I'm pretty sure I need her almost as much as she needs me. 

Until next time......

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Day 12 - Where You Ate Lunch

Right next to this girl!


She loves to sit up although she's not able to sit up for very long. This only lasted a few minutes before she was tired. 

I've enjoyed being home with her. Even on days when she's fussy or needy - being home with her makes me happy.

And I'll get to stay home longer! 

For the second time - I've been laid off. My last day is Friday. And I'm so stinking excited. It's probably unhealthy to be so happy to be let go.  

The first time I got let go it took me out of a really bad situation - which was nice!

This time, I get to stay home with Little Bitty which is SUPER nice! 

I'm thankful I won't have to miss a thing when it comes to our girl. 

Until next time...

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Family - Both Blood and Beyond

Merriam-Webster defines 'family' as "a people or group of peoples regarded as deriving from a common stock."

Family isn't only blood. 'Family' are neighbors, coworkers, friends. 'Family' are the ones that encourage you and make you laugh. They are the ones that are happy for you when good things happen and there to pick you up when things fall apart. They are the ones you can go months without seeing and yet feel like you see them every day when you're together. 'Family' goes out of their way to be there. 'Family' are the ones you worry for. They're near and far and everywhere in between. They are the ones that claim you and you them. 

And family loves. No matter what.


Today I'm thankful for a day with family - both blood and beyond. I'm thankful for lots of food, naps on Momma's floor and the knowledge we are loved. I'm thankful for safety of travel and my favorite episode of The Big Bang Theory. I'm also thankful for the cutest little Turkey I've ever seen! 


Happy Thanksgiving!

Love,
The Christie's 

Thursday, November 1, 2012

My Cup Runneth Over Take 2!

Last year in November I posted something I was thankful for every day for a month. 

This year - I know the definition of thankful. 

Tuesday we got a call from the doctor saying we could pick up our girl and bring her home. 

Her home. 

Our home.

Our NICU nurse Jessica and our friend Theresa were there to see us out and I'm thankful for them. I'm thankful for ALL the staff at the hospital who took care of our girl. I'm thankful for all the prayers from everyone! We felt each one and were comforted and encouraged. 

Mrs. Theresa took this last pic in the NICU!
Today I'm thankful for sleepless nights, baby grunts and dirty diapers. I'm thankful we have a feisty little girl who got to come home a month before her due date. I'm thankful for a massive support system who loves us and her very much. 

I'm thankful to know what being thankful means. 

Until next time...


Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Next to Me

I brag on my Beloved all the time - even when I'm sharing silly things he says or the times he makes my eye twitch. I feel like I won the Husband Lottery when it comes to my partner. He is my heart and I'm thankful for him always. And he's had a stressful few weeks and he deserves a sappy love letter. ;)

While I was in the hospital it fell to him to maintain the house, dog, work, insurance, correspondence, decisions, paperwork, etc - and he handled it like a rock star! All while trying to not worry too much about his sick wife and tiny baby.

The day Alice was born he left work and came up to the hospital because I didn't answer my cell phone and he got worried. When he arrived, mom let him know I was down in Radiology having a doppler scan on my arms. Within a few minutes a "Code Blue in Radiology" went through the hospital and they ran down the stairs.

I don't remember anything but waking up back in my hospital room with a visibly upset husband and a slew of fast moving medical professionals asking me all kinds of questions. We had a baby a few hours later. Apparently while the Radiology techs were delivering the results I had a seizure on the table and ended up on the floor where they found me - hence the Code Blue.

Several days later when I felt more like me I had a nurse that was present tell me to never doubt my husband loves me. And while it's good to hear from someone on the outside, I already knew.

He's got a bit of a soft spot when it comes to me. ;)

When I was in my car accident and he arrived on the scene he immediately came to me and hugged me and asked me if I was okay. The tow truck driver said "wow, usually the first thing people ask about is the car." My Beloved said "I couldn't care less about the car" and I smiled.

Because he loves me first.

Always has.

And now he loves her too - and it brings me so much joy to see our tiny little girl in his arms.
Alice and her Daddy

My mom used to tell him to find a normal girlfriend before we got married (she was joking....I think) and when I say "see - you totally should have found a normal girlfriend", he says "you're normal!" Foolish boy blinded by love! ;)

He is my best friend, my support, my encourager (that's not a word but I don't care.) He makes me laugh, he doesn't run when I cry and he tolerates my crazy.

And I love him. A whole lot.

I heard this song a few months ago and it makes me think of Daniel. I never have to doubt that he will be by my side.



I scared him and that breaks my heart but he seems to be recovered. Our little family seems to be recovering well and for that I'm thankful to a healing God with a plan. And I'm thankful He sent me my Beloved, for my Beloved is mine. 

And I'd be a hot mess without him!


Daniel, thanks for loving me no matter what. I love you. A whole lot!

Until next time....